Over The Hill? Where’s my transport?!

Published July 13, 2012 by KalamityK

Image

I’m about to be 40. In a few hours time I’ll wake up and officially start my 4th decade on this planet.(No I’m not. I’m leaving that one and starting my 5th decade! Oh crikey) Cor, how did I reach ‘the hill’ so fast? So… Here I am. This is me… about to be over the hill. You know what? It’s actually not that bad. I’m assuming that if I haven’t become a grown up by now, I don’t have to? I’m not embarrassed about reaching 40 cos it doesn’t seem real anyway. I’ve never really understood why women lie about their age. It’s fashionable to get older. It’s all the rage, dahlink! Everybody’s doing it!

I still remember my mums’ 40th like it was just a couple of years ago and now suddenly it’s my turn. Mum wanted to do something memorable for it so her friends and family clubbed together and made it happen for her. She went up in a helicopter ride over her home town. Something she’d always wanted to do.

Image

I wanted to do something memorable too and mentioned ages ago that I’d quite fancy going in a hot air balloon. If I’ve got to go over the hill then I want to do it in style.  So guess what I’m doing next week? The ‘rents handed me an envelope and watched me open it. There was a ticket inside. Wow! A hot air balloon ride! Awesome!!!! It was shortly after that that dad decided to tell me all about the balloon that had recently hit the power lines and fried all the people in the basket! (Forget Kentucky Fried Chicken… how about some Sky Fried Human?) Brilliant! THANKS A BUNCH, DAD!

 

I’m excited and a little bit nervous. I’m going up up UP in a giant wicker basket with a bunch of strangers to float around in the sky, at all times avoiding looking straight down… because when I mentioned this fluffy dream of taking to the skies in a hot air balloon and floating around all serene and peaceful and at one with nature blah blah blah, I sort of forgot I don’t really like heights! It wasn’t until the manchild reminded me what I’d been like just going up in the Eiffel Tower lift that I remembered. I spent the trip standing in the middle as much as possible and generally clinging on to the centre pole for dear life!

         

Mind you, this balloon ride will only happen if the weather allows. Considering the soggy state of the country at the moment, chances are it’ll get postponed. I’m not sure if I’m praying for or against the rain just yet.

I’m wondering if now is a good time to take out some sort of life insurance?!

Sod it, bring it on. I’m a firm believer of when your time is up, it’s up. If my time is up, at least I’ll have already had my birthday dinner at my fave restaurant. And it wouldn’t exactly be uncool to put on the family tree ‘She went up and never came down!’ Chuckle. Just kidding. I’m sure I’ll come back down to earth with a bump. At least, that’s what the website says!

                                                                           

                                                                                                                        

ps. Note to family… Can I have a 40 balloon and badge for my birthday please? I’m gonna need it cos NO-ONE will believe I’m that old otherwise 😉

7 comments on “Over The Hill? Where’s my transport?!

  • Leave a Reply

        PUA Lifestyle

    From Loser to Savage...Presented by Coach K

    The Gluten Free Blogger

    A gluten free, coeliac-friendly blog by Sarah Howells covering gluten free recipes, reviews, and living a healthy life - with plenty of gluten free pizza!

    Parenting And Stuff

    Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

    Running From Hell With E.L.

    The home of E.L. Farris online

    theincompetenthausfrau

    My life, distilled

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    Trend.Shook.co

    Shook. Community powered.

    notsofancynancy

    How the hell did I get here?

    Royal Pavilion & Brighton Museums

    Behind the scenes with staff and volunteers

    ~Don't Quote Lily~

    wHeRe RaNdoMneSs CoLLiDeS WiTh MoRe RaNdoMneSs

    AnotherPhillyGuy

    The Rants from the voices

    Good2begone

    I'm not really here.

    Doing It Solo

    Parenting/ Living & Creating Solo

    Seventh Voice

    Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

    UrbanBurbles

    Welcome to my cubbyhole

    Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

    ** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

    Medical Humour

    The largest collection of medical humour, jokes, funny quotes, interesting medical facts, medical gossips, fun games & lots more! This is a place to have fun. Come read & laugh...

    Theresa T Pham

    Passionate and Intellectually Curious Student

