My quick fling with Bulimia

Published June 10, 2012 by KalamityK

I threw up earlier today for no reason. I didn’t do it on purpose.  I hate being sick. It hurts. I don’t just mean my stomach hurts. I mean it hurts all over. My skin tightens up and it feels like a thousand needles are being pushed into my back and chest and arms all at the same time. My muscles contract and ache afterwards. I thought for a moment today that I might have pulled a muscle in my arm, it hurt so much. That’s one reason why I could never be bulimic. How on earth people manage to make themselves throw up regularly is beyond me.  I know they get good at it and train themselves to hurl on demand, but don’t they get that pain? Is it just me? Does anyone else get that needle-like pain all over their upper torso when they’re being sick? Not to mention the runny nose and streaming eyes. And heaven help me if my bladder is full!

I tried bulimia once about 18 years ago. Ever since I gave birth to the manchild I’ve been underheight… or as other people like to call it… overweight. I’d had enough.  I knew I didn’t have enough willpower to stay off the crisps and chocolate permanently so I thought to myself  “Aha!.. I’ll be bulimic! I’m sure I could control it. I’ll stuff my face with all the lovely yummy goodies and then throw it up so I won’t be fat anymore and people won’t look at me as if I’m not good enough.” A perfect plan! Or so I thought…

I went and bought a delicious lemon meringue pie and decided I would eat the whole thing, because if you’re gonna do this then you need a good amount of grub inside you, which I assume must be why bulimics binge eat. I did. I swallowed down the feeling that I was doing something wrong along with each bite. I just pretended it wasn’t there. I ignored the guilt of eating a whole pie on my own, comforting myself with the knowledge that it would be gone soon and I wouldn’t have to feel bad about it. 

Well, flip me. Have you any idea how hard it is to throw up when you actually want to? I had to get something long and thin to make it happen cos I wasn’t gonna put my fingers down my throat. My OCD doesn’t like me getting my fingers mucky. I hunted around and eventually found a comb, one of those hairdresser ones with the long, thin handle. The comb and I assumed our positions!  And after what seemed like forever, I finally succeeded in my mission.

………..

As I kneeled there on the bathroom floor, staring at the lemon meringue pie slowly drowning in the toilet bowl, all I could think was ‘What a waste!’ I felt so deflated with the whole thing that I never did it again. My relationship with bulimia was over as soon as it started. It really was a quick fling.

I’m currently still underheight. 

Kalamity K 🙂

2 comments on “My quick fling with Bulimia

  • Leave a Reply

        PUA Lifestyle

    From Loser to Savage...Presented by Coach K

    The Gluten Free Blogger

    A gluten free, coeliac-friendly blog by Sarah Howells covering gluten free recipes, reviews, and living a healthy life - with plenty of gluten free pizza!

    Parenting And Stuff

    Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

    Running From Hell With E.L.

    The home of E.L. Farris online

    theincompetenthausfrau

    My life, distilled

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    Trend.Shook.co

    Shook. Community powered.

    notsofancynancy

    How the hell did I get here?

    Royal Pavilion & Brighton Museums

    Behind the scenes with staff and volunteers

    ~Don't Quote Lily~

    wHeRe RaNdoMneSs CoLLiDeS WiTh MoRe RaNdoMneSs

    AnotherPhillyGuy

    The Rants from the voices

    Good2begone

    I'm not really here.

    Doing It Solo

    Parenting/ Living & Creating Solo

    Seventh Voice

    Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

    UrbanBurbles

    Welcome to my cubbyhole

    Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

    ** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

    Medical Humour

    The largest collection of medical humour, jokes, funny quotes, interesting medical facts, medical gossips, fun games & lots more! This is a place to have fun. Come read & laugh...

    Theresa T Pham

    Part Service Delivery Manager. Part Curious and Passioante Adventurer.

